What a beauty!

A rather annoying day today - the weather hasn't stayed the same for five minutes at a time. Every time I go out for whatever reason the rain starts. Every time I come in, the sun comes out!

I haven't left the property, so my Blip today is of a tray of seedlings of Aeonium hierrense, a succulent endemic to El Hierro, the second smallest of the Canary Islands. When I received the packet of seed from Rareplants.eu, based in Tenerife, the label on the packet said '50 seeds'. I sowed a tiny pinch and the germination was very rapid. Later on, having pricked them off, I found that I had some 40 young plants! It was only today, when adding some other seed packets to the box in the fridge, that I found the packet and took the photo which is my extra today. In theory there should have been 10 seeds left, but I suspect that there may be more! Maybe the label should have read 500, or even 5,000!

I posted a picture on the Aeonium Addicts Facebook page, unwisely adding 'What will I do with them all?' I had quite a number of people saying 'I'll buy some'! What have I let myself in for?

They're not winter hardy here, and grow to more than a metre tall, so I'm not sure indeed what I will do with them. I'll keep one, of course, and maybe overwinter it in the garage! But they are rather handsome! So if you're looking for a plant for that new conservatory . . . . . . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.