Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Aussie in Argyll

Another dry day, some sunshine. This morning I had a TEAMS test with a guy from the council to make sure I knew what to do when I have to do the real thing in a couple of weeks time. I've not used TEAMS before though I've been involved with a few Zoom meetings before. It's much the same, I think. I'll be giving a presentation to the Oban, Lorn & the Isles Community Planning Group to bring them up to date with Keep Oban Beautiful, what we stand for and what we’ve achieved and hope to achieve in the future. Everything seemed OK so we're all set to go!

Then it was out in the garden, crawling along the path along the slope, weeding and digging out seedling shrubs. Not very good on the knees though it hasn't bothered me before this year. Old age creeping on, I suppose! 

After lunch Mrs M came out to stand on the bottom of the ladder while I climbed up to dig our bramble roots and cut down ferns. This would have been easier ten years ago, or even two years ago! Then I sat out on the deck with a cuppa in the company of Susie the cat and Maisie Dobbs. The latter is a character in Jacqueline Winspear's books, I hasten to add, an amateur detective series set in the 20s and 30s.

My Blip today is of the first flower of Fieldia australis, though strangely I didn't notice it yesterday when I was weeding the pots. It's a Gesneriad from eastern Australia where it grows at altitude in the cooler montane rainforests. I was given cuttings from Edinburgh Botanic Garden last year. I think I'll plant one to climb my tree fern as it should feel at home there! It's not that hardy, but should grow here, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.