Laboscope app

Yesterday morning Midnight was hungrier than usual. But it was bucketing down, so I assume there was no nighttime hunting of mice. Jade was also waiting on the other end of the swing, so I realise now she must hunt in the night, and she was hungry yesterday. Last night it didn't rain, and so I assume a successful night's mice hunting, because Midnight was not interested in breakfast at all. He was just interested in following me around the bungalow as I did my little morning jobs. He was obviously still in hunting mode because he checked out my kitchen, and found the spot where the mice come in when it is colder weather. Midnight looked at me with wide eyes. And I said, "That's why you will be Kitchen Cat, in the colder weather."

Jade came in to check the Cat Diner, just had a bite, talked to Midnight, presumably about her successful night's hunting, and left.

Ammy was next. The little black cat. Yesterday she had a heck of a hissy fit with Midnight who was sitting on the swing. She was spitting and hissing and arching her back and slashing with her claws (as she usually does). But Midnight just watched her impassively. Ammy just did not stop venting her anger yesterday at Midnight. So, Midnight jumped off the swing. Ammy retreated, still spitting and hissing. But Midnight slowly followed her, then sat down in front of her in his calm manner, and Ammy sort of lost her fire and retreated.

This morning, Ammy came in, rushing in, in her usual manner. She appears not to be a naturally calm cat, but constantly agitated. But she didn't hiss and spit at Midnight this morning, but wandered around the cat food dishes, not sure whether it was safe to eat or not. She didn't dare take a bite. Midnight is watching from above on the swing seat (the cat dishes are all below the swing seat protected from the elements). Ammy looks at me, and I talk calmly to her (my bedroom door is open to the garden as usual, and I am sitting on the bed drinking my cuppa watching). I tell her softly she is the most beautiful cat in the world, and other sweet nothings. She thinks about the food, but leaves in a more calm manner. She hasn't quite learnt the morning routine with Midnight yet.

Next is one of the Gingers. He knows the routine. He walked in calmly, and up to the swing, looks over the seat (inches in front of Midnight's face), acknowledges Midnight, gets the approval to eat, and the Ginger polishes off the rest of the cat food.

Jade knows this routine. Ammy has yet to learn it. And once she does, she will find she can eat at her leisure and in complete safety. She will learn to chill out.

A refill needed in the Cat Diner now, of everything.

And refills needed for the birds as well. I was going to talk something really interesting (at least to me) about them this morning. If nothing else crops up before tomorrow then that might be tomorrow's post...

Oh, and yesterday, Midnight came up to my bed. I'd made my morning cuppas, and got back on the bed with my iPad, when suddenly Midnight jumped. He settled himself comfortably on the very edge of the bed (for the very first time ever) alongside my leg, put his head on my foot, and went to sleep. But he didn't do that this morning. I think he is training me slowly...

Creative is a kaleidoscope in Laboscope of another photo I took of the yesterday's postbox.

Another cuppa, then feed the wild beasts...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.