Laboscope App

I said I was going to talk about birds today.
I've written a few times before about Mrs Bluetit and her entourage. 
She comes in the garden with Little Miss (sparrow), Mr Greatit, Mr Robin, the little dunnock, and sometimes Mrs Wren joins them. 

The last two weeks I have been observing a new grouping which is out there now on the bird feeders as I am writing this. 
It is the new Mr Blackbird who is Mrs Blackbird's second husband, after the rogue first husband got driven away because he was so horrible to everyone.. The new Mr Blackird is a nice soul. He has taken under his wing (almost literally), a new group of sparrows which includes some late baby sparrows still being fed by their parents. I have been watching them along the edge of my garage roof. Mr Blackbird flies up first, and calls from there. Suddenly rising as if in a cloud, about 30 or more sparrows come in, and line up on the edge of the garage roof, either side of Mr Blackbird. He must give a signal of some sort, because in unison all the sparrows descend on the feeders, and there is playful fighting and squabbling and feeding. It looks like they are enjoying life. I have put a couple of extra feeders up to help out.
This new Mr Blackbird keeps an eye open for them. I haven't seen any predators. He even comes up to Midnight sitting on the swing and has a few words with him, presumably about leaving his sparrow flock alone. Midnight just sits impassively. Then Mr Blackbird feeds off the ground from all the bits his sparrow flock drops with their untidy eating.
It is extraordinarily noisy out there, and I have my cochlear sound processor tuned down to the lowest in every setting I have on it.

I have mentioned before about an uplighter I had, that went on fire in my bungalow. And I converted it into a bird table. I did have seeds and stuff in it, but Mr Heffalump (wood pigeon) and Mr Magpie used to come in, and it was too small for them and their weight, and it kept tilting over. So now, when I sweep up the concrete path, I put all that dry soil into the uplighter bowl. At first the sparrows used it as a dust bath, but I don't know what was in the last lot of dry soil I put in, because there are about 15 sparrows in there now in the uplighter bowl, all pecking/feeding at something. I am presuming there might be a lot of seeds in it, or grit, or insects. Whatever it is, it is immensely popular with this lot of sparrows. They are literally landing on top of each other to get at it.

Creative is a kaleidoscope in Laboscope. This was the first photo I took this morning. I accidentally took it as I was holding the iPad. I like the way Laboscope interacts with fabrics and patterns on the bed. Those fluid shapes are rather comforting...

Fresh coffee and tea now...going on the hunt for them.

Have a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.