Harvest

I like to blip activity in  the field each year. This field is opposite my house. The river flows between it and my street. The industrial building behind shows how central to the town this field is - it's right in the middle of Stirling. I'm fortunate to have this rural outlook as well as all the benefits of living close to the town centre.

There's a line up here - dog, tractor, person and bales. A couple of hours later and most of the bales have been taken away. This year the crop was oilseed rape (canola, a less grating name I feel) and the brilliant yellow was quite a sight. In years gone by the farmer used to turn beasts out into this field to mooch around the stubble. Sometimes cattle, sometimes sheep. The last couple of years, though, this hasn't happened and the field has been ploughed straight away. I'd like to see the animals but maybe there's a pressing need to get the winter crop planted.

I slept much better last night, thank goodness. Hope you all started the weekend refreshed too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.