Dropping Anchor....

... for the first time...

An exciting day here at the cottage..where nothing really exciting ever happens...But it was a big day for me to see my daughter and SIL bring their new boat (well new to them) down to anchor it in the back bay for the weekend. It was a test run as since the day they bought it, it has known only docks..no anchoring...It was a test run from them too. Sailboats they know - they lived on theirs for many winters in the Bahamas, but that boat was totally destroyed in Hurricane Dorian..and that put an end to their sailing..A motor boat is a whole different animal and involves a steep learning curve and a lot of trouble-shooting too...which is what they are doing this weekend!..trouble shooting and learning.

The day had other highlights too, starting with great weather - sunny and hot with little wind..perfect for swimming and lounging upon the dock under my new umbrella..(just thought I would throw that in - my daughter brought it down with her today - so I could sit out on the dock longer and not get baked to a crisp in the sun!)  Then there was a visit from my brother who joined us for dinner. It is always best to visit the cottage when my daughter and SIL are here ...they are both good cooks and the meals they prepare are wonderful. My brother and I did not inherit the I-Love-To- Cook gene.. it skipped our generation and went to my daughter! So we try to take advantage of their presence! 

My wildlife highlights, after scaring away the heron as usual, were the hummingbirds - so many of them this year..zipping about and fighting each other for a spot at the feeders... and the devilry of the red squirrel - who having been flooded out of his new comfy home in the eave of the porch roof, just quietly moved to the opposite corner ! Geez... it is a full time job tracking his whereabouts... but the best thing of all? The mink! I noted him scurrying along the shore out front but was on the phone at the time...In the hopes of him returning, I took my iPhone down to the beach and patiently waited... and sure enough he came back... but he was oh-so quick..and try as I might, I could not get one clearly focused shot of him..I included one in the extra collage anyway...But..I did get a great one of his "mink coat" though, shot from directly above him  - the little fellow almost tripped over my feet! I snapped him as he ran across, but I couldn't fit him all into the shot! I was too close! But... I am saving that ridiculous, useful-for-nothing shot to remind myself that it really did happen - that little guy was either fearless or did not notice me or my feet! 

What a fun day..and tomorrow looks promising too...my stay here is going by way too quickly...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.