On the Water

It was the perfect day to be out on the water...or in it!  Sunny and hot... with much lounging on the dock and a lot of swimming..and then, a boat ride in the Whaler in search of possible anchorages for the new boat once it has been all fixed up and ready for such outings...and in an area of 30,000 islands, there are lots of inlets, bays and little nooks to explore and anchor a boat overnight. 

This part of Georgian Bay is known for its rocks, windblown pines and sparkling waters...The scenery is magnificent..and has been captured by so many artists..including some of Canada's most famous painters...To hop in a boat and go exploring is one of the best ways to truly appreciate its beauty...

Another way is to get on a paddle board and take a closer look at things you don't often see from a boat..My daughter went out into our back bay on her board this morning and was passing by one of the beaver houses out there..and noted a raccoon foraging close to it..Perhaps that is what alarmed the babies within as she could hear them crying!..She thought  to turn on her iPhone video recorder and capture their cries.. OMG..it was amazing to hear! Sometimes when passing by in a canoe, you can hear them too...but I have yet to experience that...If only I could hop on a paddle board and cruise around the bay, think of what I could see and hear! BUT.. I can barely keep my balance on a floating dock now, let alone on a paddle board! 

It was a great day spent with my daughter and SIL..They will return to town tomorrow morning to pack up and then go home for a while on Monday.. I will miss them..but I still have three more full days before I have to head back to the city...and intend to really enjoy them! Geez.. cottage time sure flies by! I can't believe there are only three days left! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.