Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Beautiful Lacock!

I started the day with an early morning errand to the egg farm. First Extra photo was almost going to be my blip today - “Good Morning” from the two rare-breed pigs at the farm. I decided that might be too frightening!  

A little later I picked up a friend and we headed to Lacock where we are camping for a couple of nights. We have come here because tomorrow is the funeral for a well-loved elderly family friend who lived near Lacock and sadly passed away last month. My friend and I were both close to her and so decided to come together.

We arrived early in the afternoon and got set up at the campsite - I’ve been here several times. In fact I was here just a month ago, so it’s a familiar place. I don’t usually bring a friend camping, but I have a tent and my friend is sleeping in that on the same pitch. See second extra for our setup! This is the first time I’m using my shelter while camping, although I’ve used it in the garden and at our neighbourhood party for the Jubilee.

We decided to walk to Lacock to have a look around. We’ve both been there before. The village is entirely owned by the National Trust and while ‘real people’ live and work there, the village is often used to film period dramas for TV and the big screen. Some of the scenes for the Harry Potter movies were filmed here as well as Pride & Prejudice, the first Downton Abbey movie and many others. In fact, the last time I spent any significant time in the village itself was when they were filming Downton Abbey. That had taken me by surprise!  I had planned to spend more time visiting Lacock Abbey but instead was able to watch a great deal of the filming over a couple of days. (See my blips here and here).

There was no filming today. We just wandered around the village, enjoying some window shopping, the flowers, and the beautiful old buildings. We sat for awhile by the river which is also a ford and watched a car come along and drive through it quite confidently! We viewed the church (see third Extra photo), and stopped for tea/coffee and cake in one of the pubs.

We walked back to the campsite and I made a late dinner there, enjoying the sunset as we ate. See fourth Extra photo. A perfect camping day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.