Doddington Hall Sculpture Trail

YESTERDAY

Was not the best. I went to see my Dad and that was OK - all fine there. The fun started when it was time to come back to Lincoln and I found that my train was cancelled. Last time that happened  I bussed it but according to my phone, they have cut the service and the next bus would not arrive for over two hours. So I walked back to the train station and sat in the shelter reading my book for almost an hour for the next train.

I could have gone back and asked my Dad to run me back into Lincoln but he gets tired in the afternoons so I didn't like to. I had left the house in warm weather but by now it had clouded over and a chilly breeze had picked up. Dark clouds threatened rain and I felt pretty cold and fed up.

Finally back in Lincoln I had an hour or so to kill before work still and I went to Caffe Nero for a change. I had a toastie and a coffee as I was starving by this time. There were many hoops to jump through to access their WiFi and I started to wish I'd gone elsewhere. Finally I'd successfully created my account only for it to tell me that one already existed in my name - for which I did not know the password. And I needed WiFi to access e mails in order to use the reset password option. Fortunately I could do that bit from my phone! 

This left me half an hour to catch up Blip Comments and eat and drink before work. 

Work turned out to be one of THOSE nights. Watan was far more interested in his phone and dealing with family issues than doing his job, and was quite resentful of my requests, hints, cajoling and urging him to cook, cut kebab etc. The family issues themselves seemed quite taxing to him and I did try to do as much as I could myself. He was not in any fit state or mood to do his job and the whole night was extremely difficult.

He still had much of his closing jobs to do when the boss arrived and the two of them were once again daggers drawn. Normally they are lovely people but at times it can be very difficult to work with them.

[Really hoping my lottery numbers come up tonight]

Once home, I had a drink and went to bed but I could not stop my brain from firing or my head from hurting, so I went down for headache tablets and to check on Minstrel at 3 AM. Eventually I slept but only 5 hours.

TODAY

So glad to be off! Once up I watched last nights' Rugby featuring our  beloved Warriors v Warrington Wolves. We never beat them once last season but this year we are doing well and they are not. The first half was very closely contested and we were behind by 2 points at half time. Fortunately due to Wire's mistakes and our sheer brilliance, Wigan took control in the second half and won 32 - 6 in the end.

We do have some remarkably good players at the moment! I was hoping there would be an announcement that one of them had signed a new contract for us but nothing so far and I fear we may lose him at the end of the season and he will return to Australia. He would be a big loss, but no concrete news lots of rumours is good news so there is still hope!

Brian worked this morning and after lunch we had a drive out to Doddington Hall to wander round the biannual sculpture trail and take photos in the sunshine. I'm blipping a scenery shot that features one of my favourite sculptures - a few of the others are in the extras.

Maybe I will sink a G&T or two tonight, but it is back to work for me tomorrow - hopefully a more peaceful shift!

Sorry for the long rambling blurb!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.