Three of us went to Stanage Edge today. It was a bit of a mish mash because Fi had been out for a meal and a drink last night, so her head was squiffy, and I've been experimenting with Michael Moseley's book The Fast 800 Keto, which meant that I've been eating a very low carb diet for the last few days.

We started with Oblique Crack lead by Mick - well actually he led all three routes today. It was strenuous and awkward. I got about a third of the way up and suddenly a wave of dizziness and nausea hit me. Horrible and after a minute of incapacity I got lowered down and just sat for a while. What a shame when I'd done most of the hard bit and had a good fist jam in the crack!. I think that I just didn't have enough carbs, my body hit a massive wall and didn't know what to do, not having been there before.

I ate my low carb lunch and felt a bit better, and managed the next route okay. I'd suggested that Fi did the belaying in case I went dizzy again, that she'd second and take all the gear out, and I'd just climb on top rope - then it wouldn't matter if I couldn't finish a route or not.

As it happened I was fine with the other two routes, but better safe than sorry!

It's a while since I climbed on grit, May this year I think, and it was... what shall I say.... different and hard. I need to do more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.