Tiny Tuesday ...

... vial of insulin.

Since my diabetes diagnosis last December my life sure has changed.  And over the past few months my treatment plan has also changed.

I've gone from doing multiple daily finger sticks (ouch!) to now wearing /using a continuous glucose monitor (CGM).  The next big change is how I will be receiving my insulin.   I currently am doing two insulin injections daily. 

This will soon be changing as this morning I picked up from the pharmacy an insulin pump.  The insulin pump needs to be filled with insulin before it's attached to my body.  This tiny vial of insulin will be used for that.  And it's a life saver.  

The insulin pump is a first of it's kind as it's a tubeless system.  There are pods that once filled with insulin get attached to the body and is used in conjunction with the CGM.  They talk to each other and based on my glucose readings the insulin pump delivers the right amount of insulin ... or stops the delivery if my glucose is low.  I'm looking forward to starting it but that won't happen until the end of the month.  I have an appointment with the Helwig Health and Diabetes Center for training on August 29 and I can't use the system until then. But I'm on the wait list so it may be sooner. 

I hope this wasn't too much information!

Thanks to Debbi for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.