South Shore - Mission Flats

I found just one doe
to make my day as I drove
beside the river

~carliewired

My daughter arrived home tired and wilted late in the afternoon. I was happy to see her and we got caught up again. It was really too hot to cook yesterday so I made nectarine and brandy ice cream in the evening. That was a welcome treat for both of us. 

I opened doors and windows at midnight when I went to bed. It was a close, sultry night. I woke just before 4 AM and was into my big mug of coffee before 5, then out the door just before 6. 

I have my little red bomber back and I enjoyed my drive over the bridge to Mission Flats. I was surprised how much traffic there was on that road this morning. It's usually very quiet at 6ish, but not today. 

I only made 3 stops. One was for an elegant doe browsing along the roadside across the river from the airport. She moved along picking her way by the chicory, then crossed the road to the river. 

I drove to the end of the road to get a long shot down the river to the lake. It was layers of hazy colour. 

My last stop was looking across the river to Rabbit Island. There was just a touch of colour on the horizon. I got a look at my mountains from the same location. We're brewing for a thunderstorm.

I was home again before 7.It will be a quiet day at home for both of us. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud with an expected high of 34 C with a risk of a thunderstorm this afternoon. Some showers might be nice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.