Harvest Time

A really lovely morning for my pre-work walk.  Bumped into a fellow school mum and had a nice chat until her dog got fed up.  Once home I settled down at my laptop for a long morning of meetings.  I popped out at lunchtime for some fresh air and it was very hot – not what I expected.
 
BB appeared downstairs earlier than of late – he was waiting on the postman.  I was in a meeting when the postman came.  He sat beside me and opened his envelope and didn’t smile once, then stomped around a bit looking very unhappy.  I eventually got a look at his exam results.  They are excellent.  However he is only focused on one, which is also good – just not good enough in his mind.  The As pale into insignificance and don’t matter!!  There has been no celebrating today in this household, though his results are well worthy of a celebration.  To say he is devastated is not being overly dramatic.  There has been a lot of stress and a real atmosphere, with TT and I tiptoeing on eggshells.  Later in the afternoon he said he was thinking of going to rugby training.  He has done no sport since the day before he became unwell – so two months ago.  We were glad he chose to go to rugby.  He said it was hard and of course it was very hot.  That took his mind of things.  After tea he went out with friends to celebrate or commiserate – I’m not sure which.  He came home late, but I got up to see how he was. He was in a much better place.  I was so relieved. He is so hard on himself.
 
The local farmers have been busy today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.