Until We Meet Again....

..in a couple of weeks!  

Farewell to the cottage for now - no amazing sunrise to bid me adieu, but some lovely reflections and a mist off the water which was something a little different...and a message that it's that time of year again.. August.. with its subtle hints of what is to come...first the mist..then the frost? and the snow? yikes!  It had to be my main blip for the day...

My brother provided boat taxi service for me this time and the trip to town was uneventful..no suitcases rolled off the dock into the water...like that could happen twice? 

First stop in town was Bearly Used Books ..I had a couple bags of books to donate - as if they need more books! By the looks of the drop off desk one would think not, but yes they do! They welcome you with open arms and encourage you to drop in to drop off even more  (my kind of place where More is More!) by giving you a credit toward future purchases..I earned a $67 credit today..so now if I run out of something to read whilst at the cottage, no need to panic. I can head to town and stock up at discount prices! 

Next stop? Call up Sandra, a classmate from the olden days and take her to lunch..Parry Sound is my hometown and although I left long ago, the cottage has kept my ties to the town strong...but time moves on and I am a stranger there in many ways now. I no longer know everyone in town!  (heh heh..it was a small town...) Most of my old chums left after high school, but some, like Sandra, moved back in retirement...so it was a real treat to sit down with her today and reminisce...about the Mikado!  Who would have thought? Don't even know how it came up in the conversation.. but it did. Our high school had no drama or music programs so it was a big deal for us non-performing arts students to get a chance to be onstage and backstage  - to actually take part in a musical!  Not exactly our "glory days" but fun to relive them! 

And then, it was the long drive home...where I was met by an angry Maggie..ears sticking up, eyes glaring and, of course, a scolding howl! Her message of displeasure at being abandoned clearly stated, and having been fed, she then curled up beside me on the sofa and happily received my petting and cooing endearments ... 

Tomorrow when I have more energy, I will check out my garden in more detail and see what E has done and what he has planned...I see a huge pile of mulch in my carport, so that should be my first clue! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.