An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tommy the roofer...

Gail and LeeAnne had an earlier rise than they perhaps wanted as they were awoken by the roofers outside their bedroom windows chattering away!  I was when by the sound of the patio in the back garden being pressure washed.  It is absolutely thick with dust from the roofing and stone works so I was happy to have my sleep disturbed by that noise.

Another gloriously sunny day!

We enjoyed brunch and all too soon it was time for Gail and LeeAnne to head off, but not before agreeing that we need to get the date for our next get together I the diary ASAP.

Waved goodbye to them and waved hello to Tommy who despite the searing heat was on the roof singing and chatting and being his usual cheery self.  Honestly I have never met a tradesman as hardworking, funny, kind and full of joy, and although I will be glad when the work is completely finished (rumour has it Tommy and crew will be finished next week then just waiting for Billy the painter to return and finish painting the back of the house) I will miss his cheery presence and our hilarious chats :-) 

Having four paintings to do by the end of next week (as well as my next drawing course exercise that will be released on Monday morning) I headed to the studio and worked on colour combinations for two of the paintings.  That will save a lot of time on Monday when I start on them.  Also painted a couple of birthday cards for birthdays coming up.

Before dinner D and Lola and I went into the garden to see how it was looking with the scaffolding gone, the patio washed and the grass cut.  Even though the walls need to be painted, we are really delighted with how the house is looking and very happy that Tommy persuaded us to restore the sandstone quoins and copes.  The house now looks in keeping with when it was built.

Lazy evening as after dinner tiredness caught up with me and I had a snooze.  A lovely two days and the weekend is yet to come :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.