Screen Two

I didn’t sleep too well again last night: I recall 4am. Unlike last night, I did not get out of bed and lay there for about an hour. Yet again I stayed in bed and did not go out for my walk.  I had a simple breakfast of yogurt and raspberries and then went to my desk with a coffee. I answered a few messages didn’t have a lot to do before the 11am Sprint Refinement meeting. And yet again the questions were ‘why are we doing this bit like the existing system’ which are immediately followed by ‘why are we not doing this other bit like the existing system’.  I am struggling to convey that we have made a different set of design decisions this time around.  Later in the day I was inspired to order a copy of “The agile comms handbook”. Even if it doesn’t help me in this job, it might in the next.

At about 12:30, I left the house and headed for Westfield at White City. I grabbed some lunch in Itsu before heading to the Vue Cinema.  I haven’t been here since well before the lockdown and I was trying to pay attention to which shops had some and gone in the last few years. There were more empty units that I would have imagined at this kind of high-end shopping centre. In the end, however, my attention was caught by the open space and the ceiling/roof up by the cinema. I am not sure I’d ever really noticed it before. It’s quite impressive.

While I was out I received  a surprise text message from the framer who said he had completed the framing of Dad’s present. When I got back I went to pick it up and, although very pricey, I am really pleased with the way it looks and very glad we went for the portrait format where one flier is on top of the other.

I went to Tai Chi. Because the weather is good we had practiced outside. I am happy we didn’t do the mirror form for once but I’ve missed quite a bit of the long form lesions over the past few months so, when it came to that part, I was quite lost. 

I haven’t mentioned the major news of the day. As I write this entry there have been 44 resignations from the Government. The BBC’s new Political Editor, Chris Mason, says Boris Johnson's authority is draining away. It’s kind of fascinating to watch - our Government seems to be imploding and showing levels of incompetence that even their own supporters are pointing out - but it’s also quite demoralising.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.