Reminiscing

We had a day of jobs - I should correct that - Jon did jobs around the house and garden, and I tagged along behind helping where I could. He began with the hedge at the front which he has made look really neat without cutting it too hard ( which would damage it, in the current climate) I swept up the bits behind him and put them in the green bin.

Then we spent a bit of time trying to work out why the bathroom light still didn't work - even with a new bulb and starter. I removed the upstairs lights fuse from the fuse box downstairs (so old it is ceramic) and Jon undid the switch and tightened the wiring. Then put back together. The light bulb cover was not straightforward to put back - small matter of a brittle plastic slidy bit, but Jon found a new way with a drill and a screw. No-one take it off please with out checking with me or Jon!

We drove to a local Wickes and bought bathroom sealant, a shower curtain, hooks and a pole. I have to confess it was a job I had to force, because I knew once it was done, mum would realise what a positive outcome it would have. It meant Jon had to remove all the old sealant and redo it, but it was worth it. Now with a shower curtain, the bath can be used like a shower. Previously it has never been waterproof and water that goes behind the bath ends up running down the kitchen wall. It looks great so I'm hopeful it will be an added plus to the bathroom. I look forward to showering, next time I'm here!

Late afternoon, Jon and I took a walk 'up the town'. We passed our old infants and junior schools. It brought back lots of memories. No longer called St Paul's and Haslewood. The junior school has been extended into what used to be the girls playground. I rarely played anywhere else. Too scared to go in the mixed playground, where I might meet boys!! I suspect there is nothing as archaic as that now. We walked round to the bottom of Brewery Road. I've been all around this area a lot more than Jon has. He couldn't believe the changes. This, on the bottom left is the old chippy where we used to go after Borrell on a Tuesday night. Now a kebab place, so not that different. The rest of the road is unrecognisable. Then we wandered up the high street and back down, remembering what shops used to be there. Ending by our church- which also used to be called St Paul's and is now St Catherine and St Paul. The top photo shows the most iconic of Hoddesdon's features - Tower Heights and the clock tower, plus on the left The Star - which was our local - but when it was called The Salisbury. Why has Hoddesdon changed the names to everywhere than meant something to us? But seriously, it was a nice walk and there was a nice atmosphere in the town, with restaurants and pubs spilling out onto the street with their tables, and people filling them enjoying themselves.

We got back to mum's at gone 7, then cooked dinner with mum. Its nice now it is cooler, so more bearable. But we still haven't had any rain.

My antibiotics finished yesterday and although I feel they made a big difference, but I still have pain in one bit of my jaw and throat so I suspect it didn't get all the infection. Very annoying if I'll need more when I go back next week. Ibuprofen until then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.