A day in the life

By Shelling

Looking-hole

The idea is to find a view-hole, somewhere you can see the beyond, past the present. I noticed one  when I was relaxing in the shade, after a hot day on the roof of my shed. The tree-trunks and the branch formed a frame where I could imagine distant meadows disappearing into the haze.

I woke up at three this morning by a thunderstorm outside. The rain sounding like a shower on full blast, wind thunder and lightning more than I've ever seen on this island. The lightnings were so close it was like daylight outside but in a blueish and flickering way. Once the lightning hit something close by, the thunder was very loud, sharp and instant. I was up by then, closing windows because the wind made the rain come in through my insect-net window frames. Very exciting and hard to fall asleep again when it disappeared eastwards.

My extra is a physical representation of a perfect evening after a perfect day. The evening has been magically still, warm and colourful. Maybe we only get one or two of these during a year. Phase one of my shed renovation is now finished. All the best to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.