Victoria Street

I was up early today, but I wasn’t going to work – hurrah!  Instead I was going into Edinburgh with BB.  He also had strict instructions to get up early as we were going school shoe shopping and I was keen to get it over with as early as possible.  He wasn’t ready when It was time to leave for the bus, so I left and told him to catch up with me.  He didn’t.  I was on the bus and it departed without him – I spotted him and waved to him and texted him to get the next one and I would meet him in Edinburgh.  It was damp and dreich in Edinburgh, but I wandered for half an hour until I met him off the next bus.  He was rather sheepish about the whole affair.
 
We went for shoes and amazingly it didn’t take him too long to decide and he didn’t chose the most expensive trainers, however there was a caveat that  he may want a pair of proper shoes – he just hasn’t decided yet.   He then declared hunger, as he hadn’t had time for breakfast.  We had a quick look in the bookshop (no purchases were made) and then went in search of sustenance for the boy.  Next stop was a wander around the West End Craft Fair, where a few purchases were made as gifts.  We chatted to an illustrator and BB was in awe of her talent.  We then wandered up to the book festival, but there was a distinct lack of people and atmosphere.  I’m not sure if that was because of the time, the weather or the new location.  Anyway, we browsed in the bookshop in the old fire station and then wandered like tourists, down to the Grassmarket and back up to the Royal Mile – which was very busy.  We didn’t hang around as we had a lunch date  at Dishoom.  It was delicious as ever, and the service was excellent as ever, but it was so busy, it was just too noisy for us – we could barely hear each other.   It did thin out a bit, for which we were very grateful.
 
Next was a shop so BB could spend a gift voucher, but he wasn’t sure, so he didn’t spend it.  However, he’s thought about it now and may want to go back.  We then finished our day with a visit to the Leon Morocco exhibition at the Royal Scottish Academy.  I really liked some of his vibrant colourful works.  It was then home to find out it was still dry and that there had been no rain.
 
BB went to his first football trainings session since May this evening.  He survived!
 
This is Victoria Street on a gloomy day in August, with the painted shops brightening things up.  The extra is an extract from the exhibition.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.