Ruins

TT headed off to church again and as my run almost did for me in yesterday’s heat , I decided to just go for a walk .  The haar was lifting when I setoff and it soon turned into a lovely morning and warmed up.  I walked up to the ruins, and couldn’t see the coast for the haar.  I hardly met a soul when I was out, but a combine moved from one field (already cut) to another and immediately started cutting/  I was aware that there were no tractors around, but met one on my way down the road, and had to really hug into the trees as there was no verge, until it got past.  I walked home along the river.
 
After lunch I sat in the garden and read my book (Still Life) and thought about a visit we made to Florence twenty five years ago.  TT busied himself doing jobs in the garden.  I am always amazed that he can find jobs to do in the garden, but the ideal of jobs to be done in the house never ever enters his head. 
 
Later I escaped from the heat to make tea, which was miso chicken and aubergines  Later we FaceTimed TT’s mum.
 
It has been really hot all day, but around 6pm the sun disappeared, and it became very cloudy and dark.  We had some rain, but nothing to write home about and we could hear thunder in distance.  The temperature has dropped.  The weather has broken.
These are the ruins, the extra is the cascade on the river.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.