McArthur Island Jaunt

Low mileage and low
energy today...I'm in
recovery mode

~carliewired

I was awake just after 6, but I could hardly keep my eyes open. I am completed drained from my outing yesterday. It took me to 7 to get myself out the door with my camera. My brain is useless. 

I made coffee the first priority on my way to McArthur Island. I don't have much energy so my camera jaunt would be short. I parked by the Xeriscape Garden with a thought to walk as far as the boat launch. I got a shot of the little dock beside the boat launch. I could see across the slough to the river and beyond to the University on the hill. 

Canada geese were everywhere in that vicinity. They stepped quietly along in little groups. They wandered aimlessly on the roadways. They parked themselves in the grass along the Rivers Trail. I was taken with how quiet they all were. Are they planning something?

I did a quick whirl around the Xeriscape Garden when I encountered T on her morning walk. (I've known her for many years as a quilter and a teller at my bank. She is now happily retired, too.) She pointed out a newly planted tree along the Rivers Trail and its memorial plaque for a quilter we both remember well. T says she wants one too, but she wants it now so she can watch it grow. She's going to contact the city to see if they could plant a tree for her now and add the plaque in years to come. I like that idea. 

I'm home until my pedicure at noon. Then I'm hiding for the rest of the day. 

We are once again under a heat warning. The expected high is 37 C on this sunny day. We might get a wee break on Friday. Normally, I would wake up one morning about this day on the August calendar to feel, smell and see that summer was over. I might have to wait a bit longer this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.