Harvest time

I will start with an update on our home journey last night. Which was long!

Mollie and Josh came through arrivals at about 11.40 and we caught the bus back to the long stay car park with no cost or hassle. Happily heading towards the M25 by midnight. That is where our diversions began. It would appear that big chunks of the M25 are closed at midnight....usually bits we want to go on! The diversion signs were rubbish. So we were forced off into Kent, on the M20, then somehow got back on the M25 only to be pushed off again, down to Blue water, having to wind our way back getting on the M25 just before the Dartford crossing. It added 30 minutes to an already long journey. But Jon got us home by 4am. He then broke in using the hidden spare key through the conservatory because Henry had left the key in the front door. (He had the days mixed up and thought we were back tonight!) And then climbed through the open kitchen window. Henry didn't stir - even when we phoned the landline, hence our unconventional entry to our own home!

Were were asleep by 4.30 but awake again a bit after 8. I got up and showered, very slowly getting myself back in work mode. Jon joined me in the summerhouse a bit later, after all that non stop driving, he probably shouldn't have been working today, but it was an office day.

Work was quite quiet. I've had a headache all day. Tiredness I hope, so heading to bed after this. Tooth and jaw also still painful, but I'm due back at the dentist next Monday.

Mollie cooked dinner and then went in to Cromer to meet up with Josh and Henry and Daniel, at Dan's flat where they are watching the Cromer carnival. Jon and I went to Lidl, so glad to have that help. Tomorrow I am at the opticians to collect my glasses first thing, then tidying for the rest of the day.

Lastly, as you can see, Henry didn't pick any veg, so cucumbers grew enormous and the courgettes became marrows. Im not complaining. I also have some lovely figs and my first ripe tomatoes. Yellow ones. I hope my plum tomatoes will ripen too as I have lots.

It was cool and misty today and we had welcome rain. Perhaps not ideal for carnival day, but it hasn't been torrential and has meant a more acceptable temperature to work in.

Right, it's 9 o'clock and I am off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.