A Vew from on High

Lunch at 1pm the invitation said. It was sent from one of my school friends to me and our other friend, her husband and her brother all up from London. 
It’s considered polite not to arrive early, but thanks to the traffic in Edinburgh my bus was 20minutes late in arriving at my bus stop which meant It was 1:10 before I reached my destination but the threesome coming from Leith across town were an hour late. This meant that after apéritifs it was almost 3pm before we sat down to eat. Our hostess kept her cool while the lasagne had a prolonged wait in the oven. 
It was all the more tasty for its 2hour maturation and a jolly time was had by all as we washed it down with a copious amount of wine and followed it with a great selection of cheese. It was a most enjoyable way to spend a Friday afternoon even if I kept thinking it was Saturday-I blame the booze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.