A day that picked up

Yesterday afternoon, I was being assured we would be able to drag our wee project, kicking and screaming, over the line by the end of the day. No such thing. I was phoned at 10.07am this morning about another query, when we had a hard deadline for 12 noon. I barely kept my cool. If this is urgency and "escalation", then I'm not sure what the normal pace is. I came out of the hairdressers at 11.15. Still nothing in my inbox. I phoned my solicitor as I walked home again...and he assured me that we would manage to do it, come what may. #coolprofessionalhead #repeatplayer Anyway, just as I came off the phone to him, the offer popped up in the email inbox... so all systems were go. By the skin of our teeth....42 minutes to spare. Thank you, xxxx Bank. [My solicitor told me that when he had recently phoned the "completion department" of xxxx Bank, all he could hear on the other end of the line was a barking dog #workingfromhome]. All ended well, though and by the end of the day, missives had been concluded, and completion will be on Thursday. We will have our cottage in Tain! #excited

Workwise, for all those reasons, and because I barely slept last night, it was not my most productive day, although the paper about indigenous citizenship in Latin America was finalised in draft and sent off to an academic contact for comment. We cannot yet send it in for review, as we are waiting for political events in Chile.

Once L had finished his calls, we popped across to Campervan for a couple of pints, before L went off to meet his friends in George Square, and we went to Heron (via the supermarket for breakfast foods) for a nice dinner and some cool photos of the Shore in great evening light. One of my book group pals, plus her partner, was also there, celebrating their 15th anniversary. Edinburgh is a village, or at least a small town. Let's see, soon, how we get on with spending part of our time in a proper small town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.