ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Book festival

I was not intending to go to any events at the Festival, but I discovered from Munroist yesterday evening that she and Jenny were due to go to an event with Katja Hoyer and Jenny Erpenbeck about life in the GDR today. So I picked up a ticket - probably one of the last of them, as I think it was eventually sold out - and headed up there to meet them this afternoon.

It was an excellent event, but the seating space is ridiculously cramped and upset not just my knees but also my right hip. It was also very hot and airless and by the end not only were my legs aching, but I felt nauseous and quite triggered by the whole experience. Munroist went to buy the books and get them signed, and I decided to head off (I will buy the Erpenbeck book, but probably for the kindle, but not until a point at which I would be more likely to read it than I am right now). I'd taken the bike up there and I wanted to get back quickly and see whether I could locate a parcel for Mr A which was delivered whilst I was out (there's been quite an epic story for that parcel....but never mind....). It was with our downstairs neighbour, so I was able to retrieve it quite easily.

I've had quite a sociable day as I also had a quick coffee with meles down at the market this morning, where I went to get baked goods, in order to say thank you for watering my houseplants during this latest absence and to find out how the gigs are going. The market is getting busier and bigger year on year.... And Edinburgh as a whole is utterly utterly bonkers. I am so glad I am not trying to work in my office. Battling the roads and pavements would be just awful.

Other than that, I did a peloton workout and I've done a bit of preparation for a paper I have to give on Thursday in Tampere. Yes, going back there for old time's sake, but first via Stockholm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.