pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Chunks

It had been a very good day at work with one key client renewing and terms out to another who I am confident will also renew. This should mean that when I finish up next Friday, I should be able to enjoy my NINE day break with a clear conscience. Best laid plans etc.

Outside of the return of two well-fed happy children to me for the weekend, the highlight of the day was going to meet Justin; an old friend who I hadn’t seen for 26 years, and who was holidaying in the area with his family. We weren’t really in the same circle of friends at school, but ended up on a lad’s holiday to Magaluf together (with a bunch of other chaps) and hit it off.

There were two apartments on the trip, in one were the best friends club who all had girlfriends and had come for a nice holiday, in the other was me Justin (the other chap in the photo) and Toby, who had no such commitments and had come for a good time. I lot of my photos from that brilliant holiday are of three very hungover chaps who had a fantastic, eye opening time in clubs and bars and somehow avoided dysentery at the foam party.

The t-shirt I am wearing in the “old” photo was from a bar called Robin Hood’s and I wore it until there was a nary a stitch left on it.

In the extras, there’s a photo of us with an inflatable whale which we kidnapped from the girl’s apartment next door. This involved traversing balconies quite a few storeys up, so was both impressive and unbelievably dangerous. But we got the whale (and did give it back).

The second photo with the buckets? Oh dear……I had overdone it one night and thrown up in spectacular fashion, (the label you see above my groin - they had made that and affixed to me whilst I lay in a pool of my own mess), so the chaps had manufactured me a “Yang Bucket” out of a water bottle. We thought it only fair that they had one too, so Justin had a Puke Pot - which he told me last night he was devastated when his missus had made him throw it away in a house move - and Toby, a Chuck Bucket.

There were quite a few other stories involving suitcases full of sand, swapping out broken furniture and an entire club singing Three Lions so loud that the DJ temporarily abandoned his set, but my overriding memory of that holiday is one of unmitigated care-free fun with a fantastic bunch of chaps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.