Rooftop and rainbow

Today I have focused on packing for our week's holiday in a friend's cottage in the far north. Mr hazelh and I very rarely self-cater. Indeed, we think that we have only ever once taken this kind of holiday before, and that was 32 years ago in 1990(!)  Our lack of practice of preparing for whole week away, fending for ourselves, meant that the packing task absorbed us for most of the day.

Even when our overnight guest LauraMuir was eating her breakfast, I was making a fish pie for tomorrow evening's dinner. By the end of the afternoon, I was pleased to have lined up in the hall: all the ingredients for all our holiday evening meals packaged and labelled alongside the rest of our groceries; books and games boxed up; wetsuits, swimming costumes and towels inside one of our (ski) boot bags and walking boots and socks in the other; a tote bag crammed with kitchen essentials (e.g. sharp knife, corkscrew, kitchen roll) in case the cottage is without them; and our anoraks (normal and cycling) out with the walking poles. My clothes are piled up and waiting in the bedroom to pop into my small suitcase tomorrow morning.

This meant that we could take the evening off to see a movie at the film festival, and then go out à deux for a curry. The film was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. It's probably a good thing that we are going away for a few days because if we stay at home and see friends, all I will want to talk about is Lola. It's a very clever and entertaining take on hindsight, with a superb resolution at the end. For me it was all the more interesting because it was set in the late 1930s/early 1940s and the two female protagonists were around the same age as Lorna Lloyd. Some of the scenes hit home exactly why Lorna wrote with so much fear of a possible German invasion in her war diary entries. I can’t remember the last time I wanted to watch the same film again immediately after seeing it for the first time, but had we been allowed to do so, I would have stayed rooted to my cinema seat to relive the experience once more. (Oh, and the curry at Zest afterwards was lovely.)

I photographed the rainbow over the rooftops on our way to the restaurant.

Exercise today: 2.3 mile run, walking (~19,500 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.