Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Terror

Lots of hummingbirds coming through now as they make their way to Mexico for the winter (and who could blame them?). This male has already started molting and is looking far less splendid than he did in the spring.  But no need to impress the ladies now - all he's concerned about is eating and fending off all other competitors for food.  The light was kind of weird when I shot this, but I find that I like how it looks and also how the shadows of the woods behind it read black.  

I had four Monarchs ready to leave today, all having emerged early this morning.  I had hoped to photograph them, but by the time I went out to open the enclosure, they were all ready to go - 2 males and 2 females.  One pair are flying in memory of my friend Ellen's parents; one for a friend's sister.  The final male is flying in memory of a friend of my husbands (and mine) who passed away when we were in South Carolina.

His name was Vicktor Volpe and he was 41 years old with a wife he adored and two children, aged 7 and 4.  The year his youngest was born, Vick learned that he had a rare and aggressive form of cancer.  He fought it with everything he had, but in the end he lost the fight.  I didn't know Vick well, but on the occasions when I was around him, it always struck me that he was just such a very kind person.  He raced with my husband's race car team sometimes and was here on several occasions to work on the car or to join in for the ride to whatever track they were racing.  He also raced his own car.  I doubt there was anyone in the club racing world here who didn't know and love Vick.  It is hard for me to understand how there can be so many mean, cruel people out there living long lives when there is someone like Vick who loved his friends and family and was kind to everyone, and who is gone at the age of 41.  It just doesn't seem right.  But here's something kind of lovely ... when I unzipped the enclosure, the first butterfly to sprint out was Vick's - and he did a looping lap around the deck before he fly south into the woods.   The others left more slowly but I think that Vick's monarch had places to go.  

Hubs is currently taking a nap on the sofa with Jax draped across his lap - it's very dear.  

One more photo in Extra of one of the many tiger swallowtails in the garden, this one a slightly tattered female.

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.