Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Birds

I didn't take a lot of photos today, for various reasons.  But at the end of the day, I found that I had a decent shot of a female Hairy Woodpecker.  She's been visiting the suet for about a month which pleases me since I haven't had this species in the yard for a couple of years (since the Cooper's hawk got the pair that was nesting here).  She looks almost exactly like the Downy Woodpeckers (see HERE) except that she is about a third larger and her beak is significantly longer.  Honestly, if you don't see them both at the same time, it's easy to never notice her. See all of my 2023 yardbirds HERE

We had a nice long FT with my parents this morning, which also included a virtual tour of their new kitchen counters and sink.  Next up for them are new cabinets!

Hubs repaired our brick steps in front of the house, a quicker job than either of us expected.  Then we took "the boy" for a walk on the Lane.  And we capped the weekend off by having a martini and some grilled brie cheese on the deck.  

And dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.