Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pollinator

I was stalking butterflies when I hummingbird flew into the frame - very fortuitous.  Harsh light, but at least I had the sun behind me.  This is a juvenile, hatched this year and fattening up to make the trip to Mexico.

Jax is resting up after his great pillow caper yesterday.  We took a short walk after lunch but it was hot and what he really wanted was to lie down in the shade, so instead he is lying on the sofa enjoying the aircon.  Smart dog.  

It's 90F out with full sun - still no rain and nothing in the forecast until Monday (maybe).  I watered part of my garden but am letting the larger garden wilt.   As long as the milkweed, zinnias and butterfly bushes are alive and well we have what we need in the way of nectar and host plant.  Meanwhile, all the little (and big) monarch caterpillars in my nursery are loving the heat, growing by leaps and bounds.  Looks like several of the chrysalids are getting close, too.  I found a half dozen tiny first instar cats in the milkweed so have them in containers with milkweed cuttings now.  

We are having some repairs done on the RV (we think they are necessary to sell it) and on Hubs' Mercedes too.  Ka-ching.  We will probably end up replacing his Mercedes sooner than later.  Meanwhile, my old Honda CR-V continues to chug away.  

Today's dark with be with almonds and sea salt, a favorite combo.  Oh, who am I kidding?  They are all favorites!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.