A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Spur of the Moment

After mowing the lawn I watered the potatoes and a few wilting flowers. It felt like a summery day with temps in the upper 80s but it looked more like an early fall day. Lengthening shadows, ripened apples in the neighbor’s tree, yellowing leaves, chirping crickets, orange pumpkins…all subtle signs of what’s to come. I recently read that drought causes fruit and vegetables to mature faster • I asked MrsP to help me count “cats” in the dill-fennel jungle because she has a better eye for detail than I do. We counted eight!!! Oh, My, how exciting :) Sadly there are no monarch cats in the milkweed bed, but there’s still time • While searching for cats I found this colorful fellow hiding in the fennel. A spur-throated grasshopper. Initially we were concerned that he might be a predator to our vulnerable cats but we’ve since confirmed he’s only interested in plant material - Whew!! Three cheers for vegetarians! • It’s been a lovely Saturday, I hope you’re having the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.