Know your Onions

Allium senescens, an ornamental onion which grows from a rhizomatous rootstock.  Narrow, slightly twisted leaves are almost evergreen and the flowers are a welcome splash of colour in the late summer garden.  It's sometimes written of as tender but I have grown it outside for many years, in Norfolk it withstood hard frosts.  

A bitty Saturday mostly at home.  I didn't venture through the crowds to watch the Race the Train runners depart - this link from ten years ago gives you a taste of the action.   More cyclamen were potted on in the greenhouse and some small colchicum re-potted.  It's great to have this space to work in but I'm afraid I will fill it all too quickly.  Jamie cooked a tasty roast chicken for our tea - I was hungry after having done the cleaning at wharf after the trains and the people had gone.   All of which meant it was almost fully dark by the time Meg and I returned from our walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.