To the Butterfly Garden

Two impish fawns were
flitting through the garden this
beautiful morning

~carliewired

I was out on my deck catching this pre-dawn sky over my mountains just before 6. I poured my big mug of coffee and sat back in my recliner to enjoy it. I was in no hurry this morning. I'd planned a very short jaunt in McArthur Island Park. 

I left the house at 7 AM. I drove around to the Butterfly Garden on the north side along the slough. The deer were there for me. A doe and her twin fawns were picking their way through the garden as if it were a smorgasbord. I was curious to know what they were enjoying to eat. One fawn peeked around a bench to have a quick look at me, then made straight for the tiger lilies. One fawn followed its mama to browse the weeds along the perimeter. Each fawn did a lot of sniffing as they moved along. 

The Butterfly Garden is nearly spent. There are few hollyhocks left. Their stalks are tipped over and seeds are abundant. The tiger lilies are looking rather dilapidated. The small hibiscus tree that is greenhoused over winter has some large yellow blossoms. There were no butterflies this morning, just one wet bumblebee trying to dry off in the sunshine. 

I was home with breakfast in hand just after 8. I'm in for the day. A and I are starting on another small quilt today. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 32 C expected. There's a chance of some showers and a thunderstorm for late in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.