Before the Storm

We have something of
a blustery day with wind,
clouds and welcome rain

~ carliewired

There was rain on my deck when I ventured out this morning at 6. I was hopeful I could get out on Shuswap Road along the South Thompson River. I haven't been out this way in several weeks. I managed to catch the lull in the storm. I watched the rain clouds drag themselves along the hillsides as I headed east. There were bright spots in the sky where the blue showed through, but they didn't last long. I get the backside view of my mountains from this road. 

This is an area of sharp contrasts. There are some luxury homes along the river complete with their personal boat launches. Agricultural work is in evidence. I see pastures with horses and cattle. There are green fields with hay and irrigation systems running.The hills are largely without colour as the summer sun has burnt them dry.

The river gets lots of attention. There were people fishing today in the usual spots. An eagle was perched on a lookout over the river. I have caught one there before. 

I watched a peregrine hunting along the clay cliffs. It swooped and dove along the cliff edges, then sat atop one pointed bluff to preen its feathers. As the wind came up, the peregrine looked like a ruffled dust mop.  

I watched the storm building as I turned for home. I picked up my breakfast at the drive-thru and was safely home inside before the storm hit. 

It's much cooler today. It was 15 C when I left the house but the temperature has dropped to 13 C with the rain that  arrived by 9 AM. 
We can expect a high of 19 C today with more rain in the forecast. I am enjoying this cooler, fresher weather. It was lovely to be outside in breathable air this morning.

***Previous drives on Shuswap Road   https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2860564435716539674

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2842462416799793703

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.