Precarious

Ooh, my goodness me, I slept well last night. In the end, I gave up the unequal struggle to keep my head upright just after 7.30pm and retreated to bed. I then slept 9.5 hours until I woke up properly at 6.15am, so there were obviously a few periods of being awake, but I don't rightly remember them. I felt restored. I try not to say that "I feel like a new woman", as that gets Mr A a bit anxious.

Today was a working at home day, but it was quite "busy". For starters, there was a lot going on on the building site, so it was tricky not to be distracted, but I was pleased to get a picture of the drilling rig balanced pretty precariously on the low loader that had come to collect it. As can be seen, the drilling rig is quite a bit wider than the flat bed on which it is resting, so it needed to be very precisely manoeuvred. Pretty impressed. I wouldn't have wanted to follow or encounter that lot on the streets of Edinburgh. The low loader with the drilling rig was accompanied by at least one abnormal load support vehicle, plus there was another slightly smaller but none the less still impressive low loader with some other foundation paraphernalia on it, just behind.

I managed, however, to devote myself pretty closely to my second Latin America paper and get it into a very good state, with the footnotes more or less properly done. It does need a bit more work, and we also have to wait for the Chilean referendum at the beginning of September, and then that paper can be dispatched to the target law review. This will mean that my objective to get four papers which were in some sort of state at the beginning of the summer to submittable state by the end of the summer has been more or less met, so I'm very pleased with that.

Then there's the cottage. I got a home call from my solicitor, who wanted me to sign the relevant documents. All done. Not much needs to be wet signed these days, but standard securities do.

And then this evening, we've taken various steps towards a two day "attack" on the project at the end of this week. I've taken a couple of days leave, and Mr A has been on the case organising our broadband service for the following week, so we will be back up there again next week, but this time I won't be on leave (which is rather the point of the whole exercise....to have somewhere to go where I can work which is not my sweaty study in North Edinburgh). #evenmoreexcited

Having a restful beer now, and looking at some lovely evening colour over the city. That view may no longer be available this time next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.