A day in the life

By Shelling

Harmless

Yet another day is soon history, I'm already looking forward to tomorrow.

I'm in repetitive mode this week, since things have to get ready before a)rain, b)concert next week. The morning was spent rehearsing and thinking about arrangements, lunch outside in a very agreeable weather. After a mid-day rest that lasted long because it's too warm to do anything physical lasted till four, when I did some more scything (there's at least two days more).  
Martin landlord came by, him and his wife has just come home after a holiday week in Scotland. He gave me a brief travel-log, told me to go there and then we discussed solutions concerning  the floor I'm working on in the shed. Tomorrow I will start on the foundation. All the above has already been blipped so I had to go on a bliptrip when I gave up working, around six thirty.

I ended up going to a nature reserve close by for a walk. The last time I was there was in early May, when the forest is freshly green and birdsong is everywhere, everything a bit frantic, actually. Now, there are hardly any sounds at all, some little rustle in the drying leaves, a bird calling out a warning about me approaching. Autumn comes with smells. Rich soil from decaying plants, low sunlight through the leaves, everything is using a darker pallet than in spring. On the side of the asphalt-road I saw this snake. I thought it was dead, because there was ants and flies crawling around nearby it but when I got near with the camera, it went into defence mode and tried to look frightening. I thought, at first that it was a Vipera berus, our only venemus snake but the pattern on the back wasn't right. I later found out it was a Corinella austriaca, a harmless snake, as long as you're not a rodent or a lizard, which are its main food. It's red-listed, mainly because it's really too cold for it in Sweden (it loves heat and probably it was using the warm asphalt to keep warm) but also because people think it's the venemus relative, and kill it. Please don't, if you are lucky to see one. 
Blip taken care of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.