A day in the life

By Shelling

Reward

Sleep ended abruptly at six thirty. I thought the clock was a bit more but got up anyway, there were no sleep left in me.

As usual the day starts with a somewhat long breakfast, summer is still on out there, maybe a bit windy so I'll have it indoors today. I did an hour and a half of music run-through and then decided to change costume and go to the shed and start working on the construction for the floor. 
The wood for the framework needed fetching at my landlords place, he was there chopping wood but took the time helping me with my errand and then showed me the house-ruin he bought in January and then had it moved here, to his yard where he's turning it into a house for rent or maybe a house for him and his wife to stay in after they retire, or for one of his sons to live in. The house dates from the end of the 18-hundreds, he was offered it for free and fell in love with it when he saw it. It cost him 800€ to move it and will cost a lot still, to renovate and made into "modern" standard.

I had to go into Kalmar to buy some things I needed for the work I was doing and didn't get going until two o'clock with the framework. It's the first time I do anything like this so it takes me a lot of time thinking through various solutions and deciding but then, that's the whole challenge. Once decided on the method the work went pretty fast and I didn't stop until seven o'clock when my back was really sore. By then I had put the first four floorboards in place and decided to finish it tomorrow. I felt really proud of myself and gave me a reward-snack before hitting the shower. 
It's been long but good day. I will literally fall asleep very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.