Return to Bamford Edge

Back in April I stopped in the Peak District on my way North. I went for a walk up to Bamford Edge but failed to get to the spot I wanted. I had a second chance today because one of the locations we went to was Bamford Edge and this time I got to the right spot - or spots because there are many viewpoints to choose from. The goal is to get the view down to Ladybower Reservoir and the surrounding countryside.

It was a rainy start to the day and we went to Padley Woods, which is looking beautifully verdant and I've added an extra of another abandoned millstone with a tree behind growing over a large rock. The rained passed over and we had some nice sunshine and sat near the river to have our picnic lunch. 

It's been a good day in good company.

It's the Wide on Wednesday challenge (hosted by BobsBlips) and today's theme is something historic. Ladybower Reservoirs was built between 1935 and 1943 and several villages were flooded in its construction. They say you can still hear the church bell from the flooded village of Derwent ringing on stormy night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.