Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

I was pulling weeds in the back yard and I noticed how awesomely green the mountains were. I had to take a picture.

I received the framed and matted photo I'm going to use as a replacement for the one that sold at the Tubac Gallery. It was a previous blip and is called Cheap Shot. I had to make this a 16x20, so it's more vertical than the blip. As a result,  most of my day was spent preparing it to hang in the gallery and then drive to Tubac.

One thing I realized is that I really undervalue my work. I can be told repeatedly that my photos are good but I have never felt confident in that. When I walked through the exhibit today, I realized that my Marmot was the least expensive piece of artwork in the show. Despite the sale, I lost money (gallery gets 40%).

There's a binder which contains the bios (of those who bothered). There wasn't a single person in the binder who didn't list one of or more of these:
a. trained or got a degree in their field;
b. had their work in numerous juried exhibits and/or won in those exhibits;
c. had experience in their mode of art for more than two decades;
d. taught/worked in the art field.

I felt so inferior. I felt so out of place. So sad. But someone really liked my photograph so I guess that means something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.