DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

BYWTWD*

I never learn.

Mr A promised me a ‘luxury’ weekend away at Cadwell Park. Great!

Cue an early morning text that said ‘get up, get dressed, you’re working today’!

He had very kindly volunteered me to work as a sound assistant, as the person who was booked to do it had called in sick.
My job was to follow the presenters round and check their mics and receivers battery levels, replacing when necessary.
I should have been in the pit lane, but because I only brought sandals and open toed shoes aren’t allowed, I had to stay in Parc Ferme.

It was an easy gig and a paid one too, which was a nice little bonus. In addition, I got to see more of Mr A than I would normally do on a race day.

The days events overran as there was a really nasty crash at the start of the final race of the day. The rider was conscious and talking, but they airlifted him to hospital, where he was found to have a broken collarbone and that was all.

Once the race was finished, I asked Mr A if we were done for the day. His reply was ‘you’re not, you’ve to make my tea’.

Back at the van, the rest of the tv crew had serious food envy when I rustled up a full chicken dinner, complete with gravy! :-)

DQ x

*bring your wife to work day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.