The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Beware of the cat

Note: I have now caught up with all my August holiday blips, at home and in Norfolk

This is not our cat. It's one from a few streets away. Our cat is small and sleek  This one is fat and fluffy. Or maybe just large-furred. 

I went back to work today. Shockingly, I could not remember my password, nor how anything worked. Fortunately, my password was stored secretly, and by mid afternoon my brain was re engaged.  

Afterwards I met my friend J in Stroud. It was a sunny evening, so we decided to get takeaway drinks from the Subscription Rooms bar and sit on the steps outside. No skateboarders were skating, no street drinkers were raging against anything Just us, the sunshine and the small  amount of debris on the square. By and by,  a former colleague and her daughter came by. We shared a hug and a catch-up. I haven't seen them for a very long time: t was a most  fortuitous meeting.

Walked home, had supper. Tackled a monstrous pile of ironing. I don't know why there's so much of it! I've made a start. Watched Fake or Fortune?  and am now watching  Michael Portillo walking in the Pyrenees.

Sad news in the family. Our uncle J has passed away. It's a relief, in that he'd been suffering from Parkinson's for many years, and had had a triple heart bypass some years ago. Our mother is understandably saddened, though I understand from my sister TML that she has just written his death details into the family bible. Heartbreakingly, she has mistaken his full name, JMM, for LJJM. There was indeed an LJJ, a Liam John Joseph. He was my mother's firstborn son,  born prematurely, and died two days later, at he end of August 1959.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.