Escaping hens

Friends who have been reading my blips since the beginning in 2015 will remember that I have always had chickens who double as escape artists. So much so that the ones before these were actually named by you, after various famous escape artists. Minnie was my last hen, short for Minerva, and I am pretty sure her name was suggested by my friend Kate - who had knowledge of such things! Well my current hens are pretty good at it too. This one - Bessie 2 - is not usually clever enough to escape, but today she had found her way out. Not clever enough to find my curly kale and Swiss chard, thankfully, which I picked a huge pile of.

After my allotment trip, I whizzed over to Lucy's to deliver a birthday card, then home to make dinner. Kedgeree. Not mine or Mollie's favourite, but it is Henry and Jon's.

The rest of my evening I have spent at Heather's house. Or her late mum's house, to be precise. It was nice to get a 'before' tour. Heather and her husband plan to move in, once they have had a variety of building jobs done. It is a perfect location, even with a sea view from the bedrooms. I am very envious. I'd love to live within walking distance of the sea. You wouldn't be able to keep me out of it! The reason for my visit was piano lesson number 2. Probably 3 months after lesson 1. I'm not a lot better than I was - possible not at all!! But we did a lot of chatting and a little piano playing, and it was a nice evening.

Now I am very late to bed...but no work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.