A Different Sort of Flower

I'm a little better today, all the remedies together seem to be slowly moving this congestion. I'm not fond of endless coughing!

Generally speaking, it was a quiet day. Met with the family attorney to go over mom's estate - good to get that done. Now we can move ahead I think. 

I wandered around the garden twice today - this afternoon it was really rather warm 92F/33.3C which of course was much cooler than yesterday's 99! 

Here's a little treasure for you...it's a sweet story actually. We had a staff party for the botanical garden back in May and one of our volunteers is the Director of Conservation and Research for the International Carnivorous Plant Society. He brought a flat of Venus Fly Traps or Dionaea muscipula - in little 2" pots as "door prizes". I was delighted, having seen some of his amazing plants at an exhibition recently. I took it home and followed his instructions: Put outdoors in full sun in a bowl of water. And it bloomed! And yes, it does "eat" insects, but not slugs unfortunately ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.