Hazy Light - Mission Flats

Some smoke, some heat with
sunshine to remind us what
we'll miss in winter

~ carliewired

I was up by 4 and took my time with my coffee this morning. I was off to Mission Flats on the south shore at 6:45. 

The sky has a certain haze. The air quality index indicates a low risk with this bit of wildfire smoke in our valleys. It definitely gives some colour, especially at sunrise and sunset. 

I drove to the end of the road so I could get a panorama of the north shore across the Thompson River. 

I found a doe munching her way along the road's edge. She let me get only so close, then she slid into the undergrowth beside the river. She peeked back at me from a safe distance. 

There was one American White Pelican on the river. Odd to only find one. They are usually in bunches. About this time they start heading south from their summer grounds up north. This area is a good stopover for them. 

Looking to the east I could really see the haze in the sky. I caught the sun coming up beside my mountains and one helicopter rising up from the airport. It headed southwest  so I might assume it is busy with fire fighting.  

I was home with some breakfast before 8. I need to go out again this morning in search of a laptop. I've narrowed the field, so hopefully I can pick it up this morning. This one has been giving me some signs of its age. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 32 C. We might expect a hotter day tomorrow but a cooling trend should follow this long weekend. That will be a great relief. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.