Life through the lens...

By ValC

First!

Sorry it’s another selfie, although actually taken by our youngest granddaughter.
Well would you believe it I got a first prize!
Beginners luck I’m sure.
However not for the dahlias which got nothing, but for a class I entered as an afterthought.

81. Any garden flower - cut to display floating in a 2 1/2 inch / 65mm dia. Wine glass (supplied)

I picked one of our fuchsia flowers. Never imagined it would win as there were at least a dozen entries.
Just shows you never know what the judges are looking for.
Anyhow came home with my winnings.
£2. Won’t spend it all at once!
Think I might buy a small plant to remind me of my first show.

There were some excellent exhibits. We stayed for the presentation of the trophies. One gentleman must have won a quarter of them. Hope he has got a large display cabinet.
They were pleased it was a very good turnout for the 100th Anniversary, and we both certainly had an entertaining afternoon.

A few more photos on extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.