Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

More preparations

I made ginger biscuits this morning. The recipe included crystallised ginger as well as ginger powder. They might blow off someone's head.

This afternoon I made these chocolate cakes with vanilla butter icing. The recipe was weird because the mixture was liquid when it was ready to go into the papers. Quite a lot of sticky chocolate mixture ended up on kitchen surfaces and the floor!

It has made very light, moist cakes, now weighed down with butter icing. 

Did you know that you can buy clear vanilla essence? I didn't and so I don't have any, but it allows for a whiter icing if you ever need it. (Tesco does not sell it.)

We had a visit from Joyce this morning, with a bunch of sweet peas from her garden. Sharon came to discuss Mum's care in my absence. Then Ann, the Methodist deacon, came this afternoon, with more sweet peas. We love them.

I expect more visitors tomorrow and even more on Monday. Hopefully I now have enough food for them all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.