The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

From the walled garden

My friend E arrived today. Because of recent events it had been three years since we'd last seen each other, in Argyll. She is doing a friendship tour of the South of England, and drove over from Wilts this morning.

After coffee, and lunch, we headed off for town. I wanted to check out screen repair prices for my phone, and take a walk 'over the other side'. Ended up ordering a screen by phone from a shop in Gloucester. We then walked to Beeches Green/Uplands and started the walk uphill across fields to Hawkwood college, which has beautiful grounds and a community farm, and doesn't mind walkers. Picked up a programme of their residential and day courses, drank water from the natural spring, and walked back down the long drive and Wick street to Stroud. By this time we were near Stratford Park, so we took a walk along the miniature railway line and uphill, ending up at the Museum in the Park.

This has to be my favourite small 'museum of life in the olden days'. I've been there a hundred times, but E hadn't, so we had a little explore, and viewed the superb art exhibition by Steve Roberts in the gallery, then headed out to the walled garden. This was the original kitchen garden belonging to the mansion where the museum is partly housed, and was restored several years ago, after a fundraising campaign. It is now a flower garden, with many landscaped features, and a wheelchair-accessible winding path leading to the modern education centre at the far end. The garden is mainly tended by volunteers, and is an absolute delight. I've blipped it several times before, but keep coming back to it.

After we'd been to the supermarket (boring) the rain started, and soon grew heavy. E didn't want me to phone Steve for a lift, so we walked home. I got so soaked that I had to change all my clothes! What is this thing called rain? It's so unfamiliar.

We had pizza for supper, and E and I watched Bad Sisters on Apple TV. I thought it was funny, but E fell asleep. Is it our age or the amount of walking we did? AAll in all, about 16 K steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.