The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gloucester Docks

Friend E and I went down to the Shambles market, so I could show her where I have my stall. She remembered it from her previous visit in 2017. We bought some vegan cakes-to-go at Lisa's Vegan Vacanza stall. I found some jigsaws, unfortunately....

Then we drove to Gloucester, to walk around the historic docks, which served the Gloucester and Sharpness canal. There are canal boats moored there, and a tall ship being repaired in the boatyard, the  National Waterways museum, waterside cafes, a shopping centre, and much more. We visited the  stone Mariners' Chapel, at the heart of the docks. 

Later, we walked up to Gloucester Cathedral, and decided to book a guided tour, as E hadn't been there before, and it's the best way to take in some of the history and architecture. E was bowled over by the honey-coloured cloisters. One of the early Harry Potter films was shot there. For me, it's the modern stained glass windows by Tom Denny that blow me away, every time. 

As the time on the parking meter was ticking away, we returned to the car and drove back to Stroud, eating Lisa's cakes, as we hadn't had lunch. I was tired and had a lie-down when I got home, because I had to go to a ceilidh later...

The ceiliidh, disco and barbecue was organised for our primary care network, partly to say thank you for the staff's hard work during the phases of the pandemic. I felt a bit guilty until I remembered that I HAD helped administer the vaccine programme in 2021. 

A live band, Ceilidh Tree, was playing, and they called the dances. I danced every single dance! Then the disco started. I fear I may have been filmed doing my Meatloaf impression to Bat out of Hell. Social media may yet be the death of me. And I'd only had one drink! I don't need alcohol, I'm mad anyway. 

When I came home, CS and E were watching News night! Instant shock to the system. I went and had a shower, then we watched an ancient programme about Simon and Garfunkel until I started nodding off. I'm very glad (a) that the party was such great fun, and (b) that Art Garfunkel may still have some of his beautiful golden hair left. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.