The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Date for the diary

Wow, I'm tired today. All the dancing last night has worn me out. 

E had to leave in the morning, to drive back to Perthshire. I went with her as far as the road to the motorway, then jumped out and walked back into town. I was sorry to see her go after such a short time. 

Met up with friend J at our favourite takeaway cafe, Loganberry, and then did a quick tour of the lesser-known shops. Picked up this flyer for an event in two weeks' time. Don't know why, but I think I'll go along. Decided to buy a replacement plastic-coated line for the whirligig, rather than a new one. The old blue cord kept snapping off, something needed to be done. 

Got home. 60 metres of washing line, 1 whirligig, 7 or 8 YouTube videos on restringing a rotary clothesline. None of them applied to our model. Started reading reviews of newer models of rotary airers. None below $70 (pounds sterling) had good ratings, with the word 'flimsy' being mentioned frequently, along with 'poor quality'. 

Went back outside, cut off 10 metres of cable, and threaded the remaining 50 metres, eyelet hole by eyelet hole, with a few knots thrown in. There are thirty eyelet holes. Some had to be threaded twice. This took at least an hour, and was beyond tedious.  Finished just as the rain started spitting. Didn't have any washing to hang out. Whether my attempt will be right enough remains to be seen.

For the rest of the evening I have been resting my aching legs, still dance-weary. Paracetamol doesn't touch the pain. I feel a wave of clinical aromatherapy coming on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.