The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

China City Blues

V sent me this photo from her phone. Her new flat overlooks the high street. Today, most of her furniture was delivered. Most of it came from a newly established group that helps women who have escaped from difficult situations/relationships. As she moved last month to a rented flat that she turned out to be very unhappy with, I am hoping for her sake that this new place will be a bit more permanent.

And me? Today? I went to teach my student S, I was late because of looking at family emails. After the lesson he gave me lunch. I was desperate to go home to have some me-time before Steve got home. I managed this, but my latest jigsaw is so large that I have had to order more puzzle boards and some stacking trays! 

Later I went downtown to meet my friend J. All the films at our cinema were showing for just £3 today. Because she is who she is, she chose Jurassic Park over Oppenheimer. Because I am who I am, I went along with this plan. Now I know better. There is a reason I didn't go to see this film when it came out 30 years ago. That reason still stands today. 

Ok, it's Spielberg and dinosaurs are not actually roaming the planet, and there's a few good messages in there about not f***ing bwith nature , but honestly, I'd prefer to watch Jaws again, or maybe a nice film about some middle aged women who join a book club. We had to go to the pub afterwards because I was still pumped with adrenaline. Mind you, a Wetherspoons pub on a Saturday night is not always the best place to go to calm down. We left before the furniture started flying, but not before the first fists were raised. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.